3daybid Spams Social Networks


Creative Commons License photo credit: Paul Garland

3daybid.com is a site that advertises auctions of foreclosed homes.

It’s also a company that’s really starting to annoy me p*ss me off.

They’ve flooded the Inman News group on Facebook using what are obviously forged user accounts and some sort of script to spam dozens of these auction properties onto the wall.

I’ve reported the company to Facebook a number of times, as this is surely a violation of the social networks terms of service. But I’m about to throw my hands up in the air in defeat - this is a battle that I’m clearly losing. I can’t spend all day deleting these spam posts.

3daybid - I’m not sure what you thought you’d accomplish by doing this but if you’re listening, please stop.

This is not the right way to engage with an online community. If you thought it was a clever way to market properties, you’re wrong. It’s a perfect example of how you are tarnishing your brand, if you care - which I suspect you do not.

Popularity: 28% [?]

Share this post: These icons link to social bookmarking sites where readers can share and discover new web pages.
  • bodytext
  • Sphinn
  • del.icio.us
  • Facebook
  • Mixx
  • Google
  • NewsVine
  • StumbleUpon
Sphere: Related Content

If you enjoyed this post, make sure you subscribe to my RSS feed!

RSS Feed for This Post10 Comment(s)

  1. James Shiner | Apr 24, 2008 | Reply

    Yea they are a pain. I went in there and reported all of the spam wall posts. Not sure if it will do any good, but it’s a start.

    James

  2. Sparky | Apr 24, 2008 | Reply

    So many are clueless when it comes to engaging others via Social Media. They attempt old-school methods using Web 2.0 technology, and there is a perfect example of the fall-out. Ugh!

  3. Trace | Apr 24, 2008 | Reply

    The quality of their site speaks for itself….

    The domain is registered to:

    Tim Mai tim@mycreia.com
    14019 SW Freeway
    Suite 301333
    Sugar Land, Texas 77478
    United States
    (713) 771-3343

    mycreia.com is also another hack site owned by the same person…..(I confirmed that the via phone that Tim is the owner of mycreia.com and 3daybid.com, but spoke to secretary, he’s out of town for next week or so) He’s basically a hack and hence the spam. I would call and leave a message directly if you want to see about nipping this in the bud…. :)

  4. Kevin Tomlinson | Apr 24, 2008 | Reply

    Get ‘em.

  5. Brad Coy | Apr 24, 2008 | Reply

    No kidding. Social huh? I am getting the same type of spammy behavior from others on social networks. Here’s the premise - it’s social. So if you are having conversation with somebody, don’t keep mentioning the you work for XYZ Company and it would be great to do business. If you have a well built profile and a link, I get it already. Also, look to add value. I guess for some it’s hard to listen when you never had to before. Better get a clue quick and start leading with your ears and not your mouth.

  6. Jeanne Breault | Apr 25, 2008 | Reply

    Hi twitterbud @jimduncan!

    Glad you brought this up…social networks will go the way of betamax tapes if continually abused in this way. And that would be a shame because the pearls one finds in social networking are probably irreplaceable!

  7. Derek | Apr 26, 2008 | Reply

    I am a student of Tim’s Investing Strategy course and while I’ll admit heis a very agressive marketer, he’s certainly helping a lot of people too.

    His training is valuable and I have yet to hear him encourage any type of spamming.

  8. Matt Dollinger | Apr 28, 2008 | Reply

    Way to call them out. This is the natural progression of the industry unfortunately. People develop these wonderful communities and technologies and there is a huge industry on how to exploit them. I can just hear the sales pitch, “we blast your listing onto every major social media platform out there.”

  9. Tony Spencer | Apr 29, 2008 | Reply

    @Derek : He may not have encouraged spamming to you but he’s certainly a very active spammer. My site ohsohandy.com has been flooded with this 3daybid crap. We’ve built a good spam filtering system that makes it easy for us to delete all this mess but it still is frustrating and Tim Mai is earning nothing but enemies from this.

  10. athand24 | Apr 30, 2008 | Reply

    They are spaming my real estate forum dayly. I’m deleting their spam frequently and I’m blocking their users, but they register new users emidiately. Some days they register up to 5-6 diferent users and each of them posts the same shit. Each of the registered users uses different IP, so it’s not posible to block the IP.

1 Trackback(s)

  1. From What good can come from pissing… « 4realz.net | Apr 24, 2008

RSS Feed for This PostPost a Comment

  • Translate

  • Recent Comments

  • Top Commenters